Media Center

Mon guide

News

  • Share

ONCF and Alstom sign a contract for the supply of 14 very-high speed trains
12/18/2010 - Général

Under the presidency of his Majesty the King of Morocco Mohammed VI, a contract worth nearly €400 million for the supply of 14 double-deck (Duplex) very high-speed trainsets has been signed in Tangiers on Friday, December 10, 2010 – on the Moroccan side by the Messrs. Karim Ghellab, Morocco's Minister for roads and transport, Mohamed Rabie Khlie, managing director of ONCF, Morocco's national railway company, and on the French side by the Messrs. Patrick Kron, Chairman & CEO of Alstom and Philippe Mellier, President of Alstom Transport. The Duplex trains are scheduled to enter commercial service in December 2015 and will run on the Tangiers-Casablanca route in the northern part of the country

This agreement is the result of the cooperative relationship that Alstom Transport has established with Morocco's ONCF for more than 40 years. Alstom is consequently helping the ONCF meet its objectives of providing a solution for the increase in traffic which the opening of the new Tangiers Med port will generate, further developing a high-quality rail network, freeing up capacity on the existing line to facilitate traffic flow and helping to structurally and sustainably develop the regions through which the line passes.

The Morocco Duplex trainsets will be double-deck trains designed for the ONCF and adapted for use in the operating conditions specified by the Moroccan operator along the Tangiers-Casablanca route. The trains will run at 320 km/h and at 25 kV between Tangiers and Kenitra - the first 200 km section of Morocco’s very high-speed network. Between Kenitra and Casablanca, the trainsets will run on the traditional network at speeds of 160 km/h or 220 km/h at 3 kV, depending on the running speeds set by the Moroccan operator in 2015. The very high-speed connection between Tangiers and Casablanca will reduce journey times from 4:45 hours today to 2:10 hours at the opening of the line and will carry up to 10 million passengers per year (currently 4 million).

With capacity for up to 533 passengers, each trainset will be made up of eight cars - two first-class cars, one buffet car and five second-class cars. The trains' interior and exterior design will convey the modern, comfortable and high-quality service that the ONCF provides its passengers, together with the peace of mind. Particular attention is given to accessibility and safety, which the operator offers.

The Duplex trainsets that will be used in Morocco result from the new generation of very high-speed double-deck trains which Alstom currently produces for the French operator, SNCF. As such, they integrate all the latest developments in terms of comfort and accessibility. More than 10% of the trains’ overall capacity will be reserved for people with reduced mobility. The cars will be fitted with a bilingual French-Arabic passenger information system, including video screens. The trainsets, which are being fitted with exhaustively tried and tested standard components, will draw on all the feedback that has been received since the first Duplex came into service in 1996, particularly with regard to their reliability and operational safety, as well as how easily they can be maintained and upgraded.

The 14 trainsets will mainly be developed and built in France at Alstom Transport’s La Rochelle workshops (pilot site) and its sites in Belfort (power cars), Le Creusot (bogies), Ornans (engines) and Tarbes (traction drive), as well as Villeurbanne (electronic control system), Charleroi in Belgium, Sesto in Italy and Montreal in Canada (on-board IT and passenger information). The trainsets’ power cars and passenger cars will be delivered separately to the ONCF’s Moghogha factory just north of Tangiers, where train-set assembly operations will be carried out. Technical tests will be carried out at the Moghogha site as well as on the ONCF network before the trains come into service.

Morocco is the first country in the African continent to acquire this type of highly sophisticated railway transport infrastructure, in compliance with international standards for very high-speed rail travel. The ONCF will thus be joining the list of operators throughout the world which offer very high-speed rail services on a daily basis.

Source: ALSTOM press release (link)

Espace Médias

Mon guide

Actualités

  • Partager

Alstom décroche un contrat de 400 M€
Paru le  18/12/2010 - Général

Sous la Présidence effective de Sa Majesté le Roi du Maroc, Mohammed VI, un contrat de près de 400 millions d’euros, concernant la fourniture de 14 rames de train à très grande vitesse à deux niveaux (Duplex), a été signé à Tanger le vendredi 10 décembre 2010, du côté marocain par Messieurs Karim Ghellab, Ministre de l'équipement et des transports et Mohamed Rabie Khlie, Directeur général de l’Office National des Chemins de Fer marocain (ONCF) et du côté français, par Messieurs Patrick Kron, Président directeur général d’Alstom et Philippe Mellier, Président d’Alstom Transport. Ces trains Duplex circuleront sur l’axe Tanger-Casablanca qui desservira le nord du Royaume. La mise en service commercial est prévue en décembre 2015

Ce contrat témoigne des relations de coopération étroites établies entre l’ONCF et Alstom Transport depuis plus de 40 ans. Alstom contribue ainsi à la réalisation des objectifs de l’ONCF pour répondre à l’augmentation du trafic générée par l’ouverture du port de Tanger Med, pour renforcer une offre ferroviaire de qualité, pour améliorer les capacités de la ligne existante en fluidifiant le trafic et pour participer au développement structurel et durable des régions traversées.

Les rames Duplex Maroc sont des trains à 2 niveaux conçues pour l’ONCF et adaptées aux conditions d’exploitation définies par l’opérateur sur l’axe Tanger-Casablanca. Les trains seront exploités à 320 km/h sous 25 kV entre Tanger et Kenitra, première section de 200 km du réseau marocain à très grande vitesse. Entre Kenitra et Casablanca, les rames rejoindront le réseau conventionnel où elles circuleront à 160 km/h ou à 220 km/h sous 3 kV, selon la vitesse d’exploitation prévue par le client marocain en 2015. La liaison à très grande vitesse entre Tanger et Casablanca permettra de réduire les temps de parcours de 4h45 aujourd’hui à 2h10 après la mise en service de ligne et de transporter jusqu’à 10 millions de voyageurs. Avec une capacité de 533 voyageurs, chaque rame comprendra 8 voitures dont deux voitures de première classe, une voiture restauration et cinq voitures de seconde classe. Le design intérieur et extérieur, spécialement conçu pour répondre aux attentes des voyageurs marocains, traduira la modernité et la qualité, le confort et la sérénité. Une attention particulière est accordée à l’accessibilité et la sécurité du voyage offert par l’ONCF.

Les rames Duplex destinées au Royaume du Maroc sont issues de la nouvelle génération de trains fabriqués actuellement par Alstom pour la SNCF. A ce titre, elles bénéficieront des dernières évolutions en terme de confort et d’accessibilité. Plus de 10% de la capacité totale des trains sera réservé aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Les voitures seront équipées d’un système d’information des voyageurs, bilingue arabe-français, incluant des écrans vidéo. Les rames équipées de composants parfaitement éprouvés bénéficieront du retour d’expérience accumulé depuis la mise en service du premier Duplex en 1996, notamment en termes de fiabilité et de sécurité d’exploitation, de facilité de maintenance et d’évolution du produit.

Les 14 rames seront conçues et fabriquées principalement en France dans les sites d’Alstom Transport. Elles seront livrées en éléments séparés (motrices et voitures) à l’atelier ONCF de Moghogha situé au Nord de Tanger, où seront réalisées les opérations de mise en rame. Les tests techniques préalables à la mise en service commercial s’effectueront à la fois sur le site de Moghogha et sur le réseau ONCF.

Le Maroc est le premier pays du continent africain à se doter de ce type d’infrastructure de transport ferroviaire d’un très haut niveau technologique, conforme aux standards mondiaux de la très grande vitesse. L’ONCF intègre ainsi le club des opérateurs qui offrent quotidiennement dans le monde un service ferroviaire à très grande vitesse.

Source: Communiqué ALSTOM (lien)

Maroc, TGV, alstom, maghreb