Why Morocco

Mon guide

Move to Morocco

  • Add
  • Share

After making a choice whether to stay in a modern apartment in downtown, villa with sea view or traditional house in the medina, there are some administrative procedures to perform required for the tranquility of your stay.

Importing Your Personal Belongings:

As a foreigner coming to settle in Morocco, you are entitled to full exemption of duties and taxes on imports for personal household effects.

http://www.douane.gov.ma
 

Financial transactions:

As a foreigner coming to live in Morocco, you have the right to import freely and without limit the amount of foreign currency that you desire. It can be in the form of bank notes, travellers’ cheques, bank or postal cheques, credit letters, credit or debit cards, as well as any other means of payment denominated in foreign currency.

It is important to remember that the Moroccan exchange system dictates that when importing bank notes or negotiable instruments with a counter-value of 100,000 MAD or greater it is necessary to make a currency declaration at the entry customs offices.

The formula for making the currency declaration will be provided on request by the border customs services. (cf. http://www.douane.gov.ma)

 

The money received from abroad should pass through an account in convertible dirham which ensures convertibility regime for foreign investors. This account allows investment operations in Morocco and guarantees the transfer of proceeds of the investment as well as the repatriation of the proceeds and the gain of a possible resale.

It is recommended to open the account in convertible dirham upon arrival in Morocco in order to rapidly have the sums needed for notarial transactions. It is possible to feed a Moroccan account from abroad by SWIFT.

See also the website of the Foreign Exchange Office: http://www.oc.gov.ma

Pourquoi le Maroc

Mon guide

Déménager au Maroc

  • Ajouter
  • Partager

Après vous être décidés entre l’appartement moderne en centre-ville, la villa avec vue sur mer ou la maison traditionnelle en médina, il reste quelques démarches administratives à accomplir, indispensables à la tranquillité de votre séjour.
 
Importation de vos effets personnels:

En tant qu’étranger venant s’établir au Maroc, vous avez droit à la franchise totale des droits et taxes à l’importation pour vos effets personnels et objets mobiliers en cours d’usage constituant votre déménagement.

Plus d'informations sur le site suivant: http://www.douane.gov.ma

Transactions financières :

En tant qu’étranger venant vous établir au Maroc, vous avez le droit d’y importer librement sans limitation de montant des devises sous forme de billets de banque, travellers chèques, chèques bancaires ou postaux, lettres de crédit, cartes de paiement ou de crédit ainsi que tout autre moyen de paiement libellé en devises.

A noter que la réglementation des changes marocaine prévoit, en cas d’importation de devises en billets de banque  et/ou instruments négociables au porteur dont la contre-valeur est égale ou supérieure à 100.000 dhs, l’obligation de souscrire une déclaration de devises auprès du bureau des douanes d’entrée.

Les formulaires à servir pour souscrire la déclaration de devises vous seront fournis à votre demande par les services douaniers aux frontières. (cf. http://www.douane.gov.ma)

Les sommes provenant de l'étranger doivent passer par un compte en dirhams convertibles qui assure un régime de convertibilité en faveur des investisseurs étrangers. Ce compte permet de réaliser les opérations d'investissement au Maroc et garantit le transfert du produit de cet investissement ainsi que le rapatriement du produit et de la plus-value d'une éventuelle revente.

Il est recommandé d’ouvrir ce compte en dirhams convertibles dès l’arrivée au Maroc afin de pouvoir disposer rapidement des sommes nécessaires aux transactions notariales. Il est possible d’alimenter un compte marocain depuis l’étranger par SWIFT. 


Voir aussi le site de l’Office des Changes : http://www.oc.gov.ma